Stepping Stones

Contact Us Address: 1235 Buffalo Creek Road, Huntington, WV 25704 Phone: 304-743-3974 Staff Principal: Chris Good - cgood@k12.wv.us Employee: Title: E-Mail: Erica Winklemann Pathways Teacher erica.winklemann@k12.wv.us Kaitlyn Wood Transtition Specialist kaitlyn.wood@k12.wv.us Harold Barringer CTE teacher harold.barringer@k12.wv.us Patti Young  Secretary pdyoung@k12.wv.us

Operational Procedures

Attendance in Juvneile Facilities Class Size Educational Incentives Lesson Plans Tool Control Video Use for Juvenile Facilities Budget Process Supplemental Grants and Appropriations Conflict and Incivility in the Workplace Mandatory Staff Pre-Service and Annual In-Service Training and Continuing Education Orientation Services in Juvenile Facilities Orientaton and Counseling Services in adult correctional facilities ...

Acknowledgements

Here’s What You Should Know About Acknowledgments/Reinforcement: In West Virginia, we try to refer to “Reinforcement” as “Acknowledgments.” This simple change in semantics seems to help many understand the concept of rewarding children for doing what they are supposed to do. It is important from the beginning to explain that Acknowledgements ...

Data System Development

The following are some tips and tricks for creating your data system for Juvenile Justice Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS). Without data to back a claim, it’s an opinion. Usually, every facility has a process for data collection. Your job is to help your team understand if the current data helps ...

Teaching & Training

Staff In facilities, please adjust the schedule when training staff as they work shift work. Usually, team members will not be trained at one time, and midnight and weekend staff often get left out if accommodations are not made. If possible, use members of the leadership team to train staff. ...

Forming Leadership Teams

Unlike the school-wide PBIS team, a PBIS leadership team can be rather large. Representation from every part of the facility should be included, but not limited to, treatment staff, direct care staff, corrections, administration, education and medical staff. Size and diversity of the team is important. We want to ensure all areas of ...

Expectations & Guidelines

It is very important to make sure your team understands the difference between Expectations and Guidelines. Developing Expectations and Guidelines will take a great deal of time especially in facility-wide programs. Stakeholders should be given the opportunity to determine what their individual Expectations and Guidelines dictate depending on the prospective facility. ...

Huttonsville Correctional Center

Staff Principal: Vacant Employee: Title: E-Mail: Akins, Donna AE Teacher dakins@k12.wv.us Vacant Collision Repair Instructor Vacant AE Teacher Kisner, Richard Auto Tech Instructor rekisner@k12.wv.us McKisic, Timothy Mill and Cabinet Instructor twmckisic@k12.wv.us Stevens, Nancy Career Development Teacher nancy.stevens@k12.wv.us Walther, Tina Secretary II twalther@k12.wv.us Williams, Hank Ray Facilities Maintenance Instructor hwilliams@k12.wv.us Doug Rabel AE Teacher douglas.rabel@k12.wv.us ...

Denmar Correctional Center

Staff Principal: Vacant Employee: Title: E-Mail: Goins, Shelby ABE/GED/Life Skills Teacher slgoins@k12.wv.us Smith, Wilbert Electricity Instructor wilbert.smith@k12.wv.us Walker, Debra G. Secretary II dgwalker@k12.wv.us Walton, Kirk BMO Instructor kirk.walton@k12.wv.us Contact Us 4319 Demar Road, Hillsboro, WV 24946-8509 Phone: (304) 653-4201 Fax: (304) 653-4855

Go to Top