Mt. Olive Correctional Center

It is the mission of the West Virginia Department of Education at Mount Olive Correctional Complex to provide opportunities for learning to all students. It is our belief that all students can learn, and we shall strive to aid students so that they can achieve their educational goals in the following areas: academic, transitional, and career/technical skills.

As a staff, we shall ensure that a nurturing educational environment is maintained where students feel safe, encouraged, and challenged to push themselves to greater success. We shall strive to create lifelong learners through classes that require critical thinking, problem-solving, and 21st-century skills. High academic expectations will be placed on the students so that they will become leaders and/or role models thus creating valuable citizens upon reentry to society.

Staff

Principal: Chris Blake (chblake@k12.wv.us)

Employee: Title: E-Mail:
Bowles, Stephanie Culinary Arts Instructor sjbowles@k12.wv.us
Helmick, Mathew BMO Instructor matthew.helmick@k12.wv.us
Lewin, Bryan Career Development Specialist bryan.lewin@k12.wv.us
Hopkins, David AE/HSE david.hopkins@k12.wv.us
Leggett, Susan AE/HSE sleggett@k12.wv.us
Surber, Brenda Secretary II bsurber@k12.wv.us
Clarence Shepherd Barber Instructor cshepherd@k12.wv.us

Contact Us

  • 1 Mountainside Way, Box 9, Mount Olive, WV 25185

  • Phone: (304) 442-7213

  • Fax: (304) 442-7228