CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Two West Virginians are among the national list of educators honored with the 2020 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). President Donald J. Trump recently announced the recipients of this award as well as the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM) which recognizes those who serve a critical support role in and outside of the classroom.

The West Virginia honorees are Karen Donathan (math) of George Washington High School in Charleston, and Angela McKeen (science) of Notre Dame High School in Clarksburg.

Established in 1983, the PAEMST represents the highest award bestowed by the U.S. government specifically for k-12 mathematics and science teaching, including computer science.

“These outstanding West Virginians represent the level of excellence our educators pour into their students every day,” said West Virginia Superintendent of Schools W. Clayton Burch. “Because of their dedication to the teaching profession, they are instilling a love of learning in our students and shaping another generation of exemplary West Virginians. Their commitment to the profession and to our state will have a lasting impact because of the role they play in the lives of our children. I congratulate and thank them for this well-earned and prestigious award.”

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy works in conjunction with the National Science Foundation (NSF) to honor those who are preparing the next generation of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) professionals and leaders. Awardees demonstrate depth and breadth of content knowledge and an ability to address a broad range of learners’ needs.

Each Presidential Award recipient receives $10,000 from the National Science Foundation, a signed certificate from the president and is recognized at a White House ceremony (date to be determined).

For more information about the West Virginia awardees, contact Christy Day at the West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications at 304-558-2699 or