CHARLESTON, W.VA. – The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Albert Yanni Scholarships. Thirty career technical education (CTE) students in West Virginia were awarded this coveted $2,000 scholarship for the upcoming school year.

The Albert Yanni Scholarship provides CTE students an opportunity to pursue advanced education and/or training related to their career aspirations. The application process is rigorous involving two rounds of a thorough and extensive review of more than 80 applicants.

“These amazing students embody the excellence of public education as they pursue their career interests as well as shining bright in the classroom,” said State Superintendent of Schools W. Clayton Burch. “Not only are we impressed by their academic successes but also their interpersonal and self-management skills, leadership abilities and preparedness for post-secondary options whether that be education, employment or enlistment.”

The award recipients are listed below:

Name School
Allie Jarrell Boone Career and Technical Center
Chloe Carroll Boone Career and Technical Center
Montgomery Bertram Cameron High School
Mark Tucker Caperton Center
Sydney Chapman Fayette Institute of Technology
Kendall Hylton Greenbrier East High School
Sheridan Tolley Greenbrier East High School
Kendra Munsey James Monroe
Emily Marstiller Jefferson High School
Phoebe Molish John D. Rockefeller Career Center
Amanda Rine John Marshall High School
Skylar Crawford John Marshall High School
Charity Hannah Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute
Erica Davis Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute
Josey Moore Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute
Mattelyn Lamp Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute
Millicent Kehrer Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute
Alec Stanislawczyk Mineral County Technical Center
Alexa Shoemaker Mineral County Technical Center
Averi Smith Mineral County Technical Center
Hunter Powell Mineral County Technical Center
Ragan Marcum Mingo Central High School
Audrey Simpson Monongalia County Tech Center
Stephanie Cole Nicholas County Career and Technical Center
Levi Hunt Roane County High School
Katie Cummings Roane-Jackson Technical Center
Alexis Farley Spring Valley High School
Mariah Evans St Marys High School
Garrett Ammons Tyler Consolidated High School
Rayegan Loss United Technical Center

For media inquiries, contact Christy Day, West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications, at 304-558-2699 or

Follow the WVDE on: