April 20, 2021

Charleston, W. Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) will recognize 96 educators this evening as part of this year’s National Board Certification (NBC) Recognition Celebration. Due to COVID-19, the virtual celebration will premiere on the WVDE Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube social media channels at 7:00 p.m. The honorees represent the 64 new National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs) as well as the 32 educators who successfully renewed their certification last year.

National Board Certification is the gold-standard credential for educators in the United States. Much like other professions, NBC symbolizes accomplished practice beyond licensure. The rigorous process—which can take three years to complete—includes four components: content knowledge; differentiation in instruction; teaching practice and learning environment; and effective/reflective practice.

“The data is clear about NBCTs and their profound impact on student learning,” said State Superintendent of Schools, W. Clayton Burch. “The West Virginia Department of Education wholeheartedly supports National Board Certification precisely for the outcomes that benefit students and teachers alike.”

West Virginia’s support of the program has led to the state ranking 13th (previously 14th) in the nation for percentage of NBCTs, and 11th (previously 18th) in the nation for the number of new NBCTs. Currently, there are 1,111 NBCTs in the Mountain State. In addition to an annual $3,500 salary supplement provided by the WVDE, most counties also support NBCTs with additional salary enhancements. WVDE provides mentors to assist those pursuing their certification, and it also reimburses the $1,900 in fees associated with the application process.

Below are this year’s class of National Board Certified Teachers in West Virginia:

New Recipients:

Shelly Compton Berkeley County
Melissa Elliott Berkeley County
Karla Hilliard Berkeley County
Elizabeth Jorgensen Berkeley County
Joseph Merkel Berkeley County
Molly K. Ruppenthal Berkeley County
Jessica Salfia Berkeley County
Lucinda A. Weese Berkeley County
Courtney Arnold Cabell County
Lauren Cooper Cabell County
Amanda Craft Cabell County
Melanie C. Hughes Cabell County
Terri Keim Cabell County
Stephanie Neace Cabell County
Adam Riazi Cabell County
Lori Terango Cabell County
Amy E. Thompson Cabell County
Angela Dvorak Ware Cabell County
Kriston Staggs Grant County
Jaclyn C. Loss Harrison County
Kellee M. Shuttleworth Harrison County
Jennifer L. Zickefoose Harrison County
Samantha Asbury Kanawha County
Shellie Clark Kanawha County
Jeffrey Lipscomb Kanawha County
Kami J. Lucas Kanawha County
Courtney Wickert Kanawha County
Kristie Renee Adkins Lincoln County
Tina Dean Adkins Lincoln County
Leah G. Hager Lincoln County
Aimee McGrady Lincoln County
Megan N. Kusich Marion County
Rebecca Merritt Marion County
Miriam Straka Marion County
Michael E. Williams Marion County
Heather Yoho Marion County
Stacy Canterbury Mercer County
Samantha R. Coble Mineral County
Elizabeth Malone Knotts Mineral County
Elizabeth Ferrari Monongalia County
Kristina Palumbo Monongalia County
Christina Pizatella Monongalia County
Kelsey Sprowls Monongalia County
Catherine Hutchinson Putnam County
Chantil L. McCormick Putnam County
Jessica Shortridge Putnam County
Dr. Georgia N. Thornton Putnam County
Lisa M. Brown Raleigh County
Jamie Hazelwood Raleigh County
Stephanie Jarrell Raleigh County
Julie Nixon Raleigh County
Erica W. Pack Raleigh County
Kimberly L. Simpson Raleigh County
Andrea J. Sullivan Raleigh County
Stacy E. Williams Raleigh County
Stephanie J. Wright Raleigh County
Leigh Ann Hoffman Randolph County
Marley Jolly Wood County
Jennifer Ann Tennant Wood County
Christine Louise Fazio Walker Wood County
Amanda Daniels Wyoming County
Misty Lyons Wyoming County


Renewal Recipients:

Angela M. McDaniel Barbour County
Erin Sponaugle Berkeley County
Dr. Lee Ann Hvizdak Porter Cabell County
Kristin Ryder Cabell County
Heather M. Gill Greenbrier County
Michelle McHaffie Hancock County
Connie L. Bowers Harrison County
Elissa A. Whelchel Harrison County
James A. Russell, Jr. Jefferson County
Ann Hall Kanawha County
Kelly Massinople Kanawha County
Rebecca Rhett Kanawha County
Alison Stevenson Kanawha County
Bernard Vandal Kanawha County
Katherine Becker Lincoln County
Elizabeth Ann Duncan Lincoln County
Melissa R. Schroeder Lincoln County
Janet Lynn Hanshaw Logan County
Michelle R. Martin Mercer County
Tammy Ashby Mineral County
Heidi Bradshaw Mineral County
Sarah Morgart Mineral County
Jennifer Sparks Mingo County
Emily Bragg Monongalia County
Sara Pennington Monongalia County
Barbara L. Black Putnam County
Natalie Breedlove Putnam County
Janessa Noel Putnam County
Mary K. Blaker Wood County
Corinne Anne Full Wood County
James Stewart Wood County

To learn more about the National Board Certification process, visit https://wvde.us/educator-development-and-support/professional-learning/.

For media inquiries, contact Christy Day, West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications, at 304-558-2699 or Christy.Day@k12.wv.us.

Follow the WVDE on FacebookTwitter and LinkedIn.