Charleston, W.Va. – The West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) and the West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) announced Upshur County’s Jessica Grose as the 2023 West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year. The announcement was made as part of the Celebration of Excellence in Education: Honoring the 2023 Teacher and School Service Personnel of the Year in Charleston Tuesday evening. WVBE President L. Paul Hardesty and West Virginia Superintendent of Schools David L. Roach were joined by members of the State Board of Education for the occasion which was held at the State Culture Center.

Jessica Grose is a special education aide at Hodgesville Elementary School in Buckhannon, West Virginia. She is known as a great team player who commits to serving children whenever she is needed. During her 11 years of service, Grose has made lasting connections with students by making them feel important through her positive attitude and genuineness.

In addition to the support she provides in her school building, Grose volunteers with the Upshur County FFA, the Buckhannon-Upshur High School football team, choir, band, cheerleading team, and Buckhannon #24 International Order of the Rainbow for Girls.

“Ms. Grose has served the students and her school community in many ways for more than a decade,” said Superintendent Roach. “She is someone who is committed, principled and enthusiastic about supporting students and teachers. I am proud that she will represent the best of our school service personnel next year, and I am truly grateful for her years of service inside and outside of the classroom.”

The 2023 finalists include:

Name School/Office County
Michelle Clark Harrisville Elementary School Ritchie County
Susan Clark Warm Springs Middle School Morgan County
Jeffrey Coleman John Marshall High School Marshall County
Marketa Crum Beale Elementary School Mason County
Wendy Dodson Jefferson County Schools Central Office
Mellissa Fuller Huff Consolidated Elementary and Middle School Wyoming County
Glenna Johnston Peterson-Central Elementary School Lewis County
Kaare Mejias Martinsburg North Middle School Berkeley County
Hannah Rexrode Mineral County Schools Mineral County

The West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year program recognizes outstanding education support personnel for their contributions to their schools and communities. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of their jobs, thereby earning them the respect and admiration of students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents.

As the 2023 winner, Grose will receive $2,500 each from the Horace Mann Companies and Highmark West Virginia; $500 from the West Virginia School Service Personnel Association (WVSSPA), as well as a tumbler and glass ornament; a two-night stay at Twin Falls Resort State Park from West Virginia State Parks; and a piece of art from Blenko Glass Company. All finalists will receive a $25 gift card from Adams Hallmark and all county winners will receive tumblers from WVSSPA and a plaque and certificate from the WVDE.

To view the full ceremony, please visit the YouTube livestream from West Virginia Public Broadcasting or WVDE’s Facebook page.

Information about the WVDE Teacher and Service Personnel of the Year programs as well as pictures of year’s winners are listed on the WVDE website.

For more information, contact Christy Day at the WVDE Office of Communications at 304-558-2699 or

Follow the WVDE on: