For Immediate Release: June 17, 2021

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021-2022 Albert Yanni Scholarships. Twenty-five career technical education (CTE) students were chosen out of 100 applicants to receive a $2,000 scholarship for the upcoming school year.

The Albert Yanni Scholarship provides CTE students an opportunity to pursue advanced education and/or training related to their career aspirations. State Superintendent W. Clayton Burch said the application process is rigorous with two rounds of thorough and extensive review of every applicant.

“These 25 students exemplify excellence in both the classroom, their fields of interest and their communities,” Superintendent Burch said. “We are not only impressed by their academic successes but also their interpersonal and self-management skills, leadership abilities and preparedness for post-secondary education.”

The award recipients are listed below:

– Tucker Workman (Bluefield High School)
– Cidney Fortney (Boone Career Center)
– Kirsten Arthur (Boone Career Center)
– Maci Allen (Boone Career Center)
– Madilyn Asbury (Boone Career Center)
– Tanner Hale (Boone Career Center)
– Kamryn Bable (Brooke High School)
– Rebecca Snyder (Cabell Midland High School)
– Carter Lipscomb (Doddridge County High School)
– Abigail Hannan (Elkins High School)
– Annie Johnson (Fayette Institute of Technology)
– Shayla Bourn (Gilmer County High School)
– Jaydyn Blackhurst (Grafton High School)
– McKenzie Mayle (Grafton High School)
– Hunter Wamsley (Greenbrier East High School)
– Amberlie Wilson (Greenbrier West High School)
– Lakyn Parker (John Marshall High School)
– Kaleb Cole (Mid-Ohio Valley Technical Institute)
– Sarah Sions (Mineral County Tech Center)
– Alexis Pride (Monongalia County Tech Center)
– Alisha Tate (Monongalia County Tech Center)
– Leah Fisher (Preston High School)
– Francesca Malinky (Wheeling Park High School)
– Austin Dille (Wirt County High School)
– Isabella Haynes (Wood County Technical Center)

Questions about the scholarship selection process can be directed to Nathan Taylor at 304-558-2347 or by email at

For media inquiries, contact Christy Day at the West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications at 304-558-2699 or

Follow the WVDE on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.