Charleston, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) recognized 134 West Virginia educators as part of the annual National Board Certification (NBC) Recognition Celebration. The ceremony was held at the West Virginia Culture Center and honored 46 new National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs) and 88 teachers across West Virginia who maintained their certification in the class of 2023.

Educators can earn this voluntary, advanced teaching credential by completing an intense and rigorous process that can take three years to complete. Candidates must master four components of content knowledge, differentiation in instruction, teaching practice and learning environment and effective/reflective practice to be certified. The NBC is recognized across the country as an achievement beyond the necessary state licensure. Research has shown that an NBCT in the classroom has a greater impact on student learning, especially among low-income students.

“National Board Certified Teachers exemplify the ideas of continuous learning and development in the profession. Their dedication to education and their students provide credence to academic achievement,” said State Superintendent of Schools Michele L. Blatt. “Our NBCTs are committed to excellence and cultivating a foundation for a successful future.”

West Virginia ranks 14th in the country for the percentage of NBCTs and 17th for the number of newly certified teachers. Currently, there are a total of 1,218 NBCTs that have been certified in the Mountain State. In addition to an annual $3,500 salary supplement provided by the WVDE through a legislative line item, most counties also support NBCTs with additional salary enhancements. WVDE provides mentors to assist those pursuing NBC, and it also reimburses the fees associated with the application process.

The 2023 class of new NBCTs as well as those who maintained the credential are as follows:

Newly Certified

Name County
April Cecil Berkeley County
Amy Files Berkeley County
Melissa Hissem Berkeley County
Rachel March Berkeley County
Kelci Murphy Berkeley County
Lindsay Shade Berkeley County
Alec Hunt Boone County
Melissa Ducworth Braxton County
Josie Krenzel Cabell County
Lori Osborne Cabell County
Rachel Petrie Cabell County
Stephanie Spencer Cabell County
Matthew Stead Cabell County
Sara Hill Greenbrier County
Jennifer Knisely Greenbrier County
Jennifer La Casella Harrison County
Megan Scroggins Harrison County
Lisa Williams Harrison County
Robin Chancey Jackson County
Deidre Manns Jackson County
Charmin McCarty Jackson County
Melinda Monks Kanawha County
Brenna Allen Lincoln County
LeAnna Maynard Lincoln County
Stephanie Brown Marion County
Allyson Varlas Marshall County
Julie Duncan Mercer County
Leigh Owens Mercer County
Jennifer Persinger Mercer County
Emily Altobello Mineral County
Pamela Thompson Mineral County
Amanda Garvin Monongalia County
Lisa McCoy Monongalia County
Jennifer Nail-Cook Pocahontas County
Amanda Darnley Putnam County
Kristin Ayers Raleigh County
Amanda Blackburn Raleigh County
Cynthia Bryant Raleigh County
Jessica Cook Raleigh County
Kristen McBride Raleigh County
Emily Persinger Raleigh County
Rhonda Scott Raleigh County
Stephany Willis Raleigh County
Jessie Roberts Randolph County
Stephanie Asbury Wood County
Gerrie Field Wood County

Maintained Certification

Name County
Craig Arch Berkeley County
Erin Butler Berkeley County
Elaine Cook Berkeley County
Amanda Freenman Berkeley County
Lauren Funderburk Berkeley County
Debra Glover Berkeley County
Shauna Herber Berkeley County
Huston Johnson Berkeley County
Courney Kackley Berkeley County
Rachel Knotts Berkeley County
Wendy Lee Berkeley County
Brianna Niewodowski Berkeley County
Mary Twigg Berkeley County
Eva Warner Boone County
Malory Baker Cabell County
Meghan Salter Cabell County
Lisa Williams Cabell County
Rhonda Travis Doddridge County
Tanya Stewart Gilmer County
Donna Carnes Hancock County
Jennifer Hardy Hancock County
Heidi Markish Hancock County
Henry Hodges Hardy County
Michelle Wolfe Hardy County
Ryan Deems Harrison County
Deanna Garrett Harrison County
Amy Hinkle Harrison County
Brent Kimble Harrison County
Matthew McCullough Harrison County
Renee Powell Harrison County
Julia Yearego Harrison County
Kelley Adcock Jackson County
Tarah Clark Jackson County
Christina Shinn Jackson County
Kristin Friend Jefferson County
Ryan Lawn Jefferson County
Amanda Rinard Jefferson County
William Dorsey Kanawha County
June Klassen Kanawha County
Linda Long Kanawha County
Kelly Plutro Kanawha County
Cari Pauley Lincoln County
Rachelle Bourne Marion County
Kristy Cecil Mercer County
Tara Dillon Mercer County
Christina Hollins Mercer County
Sarah Malone Mineral County
Stacey McClintock Mineral County

For media inquiries, contact Christy Day, West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications, at 304-558-2699 or

Follow the WVDE on: