The Purple Star Award is a designation assigned to schools which display a special commitment to supporting military children and their families. Common Ground Partners review applications and the West Virginia Department of Education issues awards to schools meeting the award’s eligibility criteria. Schools receiving the award are issued an official certificate and additional electronic materials which may be used to pridefully display their status as a military-friendly school throughout the building. This award contributes to our partnership‘s efforts to build strong bonds between schools, military service members, and community organizations which meet the specialized needs of our children and enhance the success of all students. To learn how your school may become designated as a Purple Star School for a three-year period, please review the application below or contact WVDE Coordinator, Mr. Robert Mellace at rmellace@k12.wv.us or 304.558.3119.

Review a National Study of the Purple Star School Designation Program from Columbia University.

Click here, to go back to the Common Ground Partnership’s homepage.

The application period for the first class of the Purple Star Award has now closed and schools deemed eligible to receive the award will be recognized during the month of December 2021. The application period for the second class of the Purple Star Award runs from November 13, 2021 – April 29, 2022. To apply, please complete the application below and submit all required documentation. If you encounter issues with the application process, please contact Mr. Robert Mellace at rmellace@k12.wv.us or 304-558-2699.

Purple Star Award Application

One mandatory requirement for receiving the Purple Star Award is for the applicant to identify one school staff member as the military family point of contact. This ensures that at least one caring adult at the school is assigned to address the specialized needs of military-connected children. This individual receives training, reviewing the video below and passing the required quiz with a score of 100%.

Once a school receives the Purple Star Award, the Military Family Point of Contact will begin receiving regular correspondence about opportunities to collaborate with military partners and how to be supportive of military families. If you are leaving the school, the principal will need to provide the WVDE with notification of who will be assuming this role in your absence. Principals may provide Mr. Robert Mellace with this information at rmellace@k12.wv.us. Please return to this section of the website in the future for opportunities to review or participate in professional development.

Disclaimer: The Purple Star Award is issued by the West Virginia Department of Education and is not a national MIC3 initiative.

One of the optional military support activities identified on the Purple Star Award application is that the county school board may pass a resolution publicizing information about the school system’s support for military students and families. School boards seeking examples of resolutions for enhancing collaboration with military organizations and providing supports to military families may use or modify the following documents to fit their needs and plans.

Qualifying resolutions have been issued by County Boards of Education in the following counties:

2021 Purple Star County Map Image

County Date
Brooke June 25, 2021
Kanawha September 7, 2021
Marion September 28, 2021
Pocahontas October 12, 2021
Putnam October 18, 2021
Wetzel September 13, 2021

 

County Date Of Award
Brooke December 7, 2021
Kanawha December 7, 2021
Pocahontas December 7, 2021

 

School NameCountyName of the Military Family Point of ContactE-mail of the Military Family Point of ContactAward Period
Brooke High SchoolBrookeMeredith Hoodmhood@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brooke Intermediate School NorthBrookeEmily Stuckemily.stuck@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brooke Intermediate School SouthBrookeW. Scott DonohewScott.donohew@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brooke Middle SchoolBrookeAmy Ludewigaludewig@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brooke Primary School SouthBrookeHeidi Dawsonhdawson@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brooke Primary School NorthBrookeTracey Welchtwelch@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
The Bruin Bridge SchoolBrookeMike Lewismichael.p.lewis@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Milton Middle SchoolCabellJason Goodejwgoode@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Lewisburg Elementary SchoolGreenbrierKatherine Taylorkatherine.taylor@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Bridgeport High SchoolHarrisonRenee Mathewsrenee.mathews@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mountaineer Middle SchoolHarrisonDavid Drydendavid.dryden@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
North View Elementary SchoolHarrisonKim Secretokimberly.secreto@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Simpson Elementary SchoolHarrisonJennifer RandolphJennifer.Randolph@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Alban Elementary SchoolKanawhaJohnna Jacobsjmjacobs@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Alum Creek Elementary SchoolKanawhaBetty Jo Smithbettysmith@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Andrew Jackson Middle SchoolKanawhaRhonda Donohoerdonohoe@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Andrews Heights Elementary SchoolKanawhaSuzanne Armstrongyarmstrong@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Anne Bailey Elementary SchoolKanawhaJacki Collinsjcollins@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Belle Elementary SchoolKanawhaDanielle Burkelburke@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Ben Franklin Career CenterKanawhaNicole McCartneynlmccartney@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Bridgeview Elementary SchoolKanawhaChantel Hartwellchartwell@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Capital High SchoolKanawhaRobert Rileyrriley@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Carver Career CenterKanawhaDawn DeMossddemoss@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Cedar Grove Elementary SchoolKanawhaEmily Danielsefletcher@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Cedar Grove Middle SchoolKanawhaDickie Lanhamdllanham@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Central Elementary SchoolKanawhaWhitney Canadawcanada@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Chamberlain Elementary SchoolKanawhaPhoebe McCloudpmccloud@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Chandler AcademyKanawhaPatty Waldeckpwaldeck@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Chesapeake Elementary SchoolKanawhaKim Poseykposey@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Clendenin Elementary SchoolKanawhaAngela Gurskiagurski@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Cross Lanes Elementary SchoolKanawhaNola Willardnola.willard@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Dunbar Intermediate SchoolKanawhaSara Raines-Wilsonsraines@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Dunbar Middle SchoolKanawhaKandace Ansahkansah@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Dunbar Primary SchoolKanawhaMichelle Adamsmadams@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
DuPont Middle SchoolKanawhaLarissa Davislarissadavis@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
East Bank Middle SchoolKanawhaMatthew Stonestreetmstonestreet@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Edgewood Elementary SchoolKanawhaChristina Bridgettecbridgette@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Elk Elementary CenterKanawhaJeff Mullinsjmullins@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Elkview Middle SchoolKanawhaHillary Lancasterhlancaster@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Flinn Elementary SchoolKanawhaChelsea Lewischelsealewis@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Garnet Career CenterKanawhaJanice Standishjstandish@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
George C. Weimer Elementary SchoolKanawhaPamela Sneadpsnead@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
George Washington High SchoolKanawhaBrad McGeetmcgee@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Grandview Elementary SchoolKanawhaKatey Francis-VirKfrancis-vir@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Hayes Middle SchoolKanawhaLindsay Johnsonlindsayjohnson@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Herbert Hoover High SchoolKanawhaMatthew Emchmemch@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Holz Elementary SchoolKanawhaLynn Davislmdavis@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Horace Mann Middle SchoolKanawhaShandon Tweedyetweedy@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
John Adams Middle SchoolKanawhaJessica Abshirejmeans@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Kanawha City Elementary SchoolKanawhaMegan Paxtonmpaxton@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Kenna Elementary SchoolKanawhaLeah Earnestlearnest@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Lakewood Elementary SchoolKanawhaMichelle Burkmichelleburk@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Malden Elementary SchoolKanawhaTonya Harpertharper@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Marmet Elementary SchoolKanawhaCynthia Schillingcschilling@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mary C. Snow West Side Elementary SchoolKanawhaStarlena Slatersgslater@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mary Ingles Elementary SchoolKanawhaAndrea Goffandrea.goff@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
McKinley Middle SchoolKanawhaMelissa Chapmanmchapman@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Midland Trail Elementary SchoolKanawhaGrant DavisGdavis@mail.kana.k12.Wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Montrose Elementary SchoolKanawhaKristi WalterKwalter@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Nitro Elementary SchoolKanawhaAshley Garrettagarrett@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Nitro High SchoolKanawhaWilliam Parkwpark@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Overbrook Elementary SchoolKanawhaJamie Kingreyjkingrey@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Piedmont Elementary SchoolKanawhaDusty Herscherdherscher@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Pinch Elementary SchoolKanawhaTrudy FragaleTbonnett-fragale@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Point Harmony Elementary SchoolKanawhaJamie SingletonJSINGLETON@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Pratt Elementary SchoolKanawhaJacqueline Herschjhersch@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Richmond Elementary SchoolKanawhaSara Krasonskrason@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Riverside High SchoolKanawhaBryan Murphybmurphy@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Ruffner Elementary SchoolKanawhaKatelynn Kingkmking@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Ruthlawn Elementary SchoolKanawhaLoraine JacksonLkjackson@mail.kana.k12.we.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Saint Albans High SchoolKanawhaRobert Fergusonrferguson@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Sharon Dawes Elementary SchoolKanawhaCandace Rosecrose@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Shoals Elementary SchoolKanawhaMelinda Humphreysmelinda.d.humphreys@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Sissonville Elementary SchoolKanawhaJenny Newhousejnewhouse@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Sissonville High SchoolKanawhaTony Lestertlester@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Sissonville Middle SchoolKanawhaMatthew Woodmrwood@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
South Charleston High SchoolKanawhaRonald Belluerbellue@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
South Charleston Middle SchoolKanawhaMichelle Tatemtate@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Weberwood Elementary SchoolKanawhaBrianne Vandalbrianne.vandal@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
West Side Middle SchoolKanawhaDavid LaMasterdlamaster@mail.kana.k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Leading Creek Elementary SchoolLewisMelanie Moodymelanie.moody@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Lewis County High SchoolLewisAubrey Lingeralinger@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Peterson-Central Elementary SchoolLewisMona Vinsonmona.vinson@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Man Elementary SchoolLoganDoug Barrettdbarrett@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Blackshere Elementary SchoolMarionJanie Devauljdevaul@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
East Dale Elementary SchoolMarionTami Alexandertxalexan@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
East Fairmont High SchoolMarionMichelle Solemsole@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
East Fairmont Middle SchoolMarionCharlotte Rombergercharlotte.romberger@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Fairmont Senior High SchoolMarionKirt Walterskirt.walters@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Fairview Elementary SchoolMarionMonique Callmmcall@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mannington Middle SchoolMarionEmilie Lewisemily.dewitt@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Monongah Elementary SchoolMarionPaula Hattenphatten@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
North Marion High SchoolMarionCarrie Elmlingercelmlinger@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Pleasant Valley Elementary SchoolMarionLisa Boylelboyle@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Rivesville Elementary Middle SchoolMarionChristopher Binottocbinotto@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
White Hall Elementary SchoolMarionElizabeth Nan Murrayelmurray@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Brushfork Elementary SchoolMercerAngel Elswickangel.elswick@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Oakvale Elementary SchoolMercerLaCosta Hodgeslhodges@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mineral County Alternative SchoolMineralBlake Mangoldblake.mangold@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Eastwood Elementary SchoolMonongaliaLeslie Phareslphares@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
James Monroe High SchoolMonroeAubrey Houckafhouck@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Monroe County Vocational CenterMonroeWilliam Longanacrewilliam.longanacre@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mountain View Elementary and Middle SchoolMonroeCatherine Allencatherine.allen@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Peterstown Elementary SchoolMonroeBenjamin Belcherben.belcher@rocketmail.com1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Green Bank Elementary Middle SchoolPocahontasDavid Pauldavid.paul@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Hillsboro Elementary SchoolPocahontasRebecca Spencerraspencer@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Marlinton Elementary SchoolPocahontasKristi Tankersleyktankersley@k12..wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Marlinton Middle SchoolPocahontasSherman Taylorshtaylor@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Pocahontas County High SchoolPocahontasAnita Workmananita.workman@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Kingwood Elementary SchoolPrestonMadison Johnsonmadison.johnson@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Buffalo High SchoolPutnamNatasha Barkernbarker@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Eastbrook Elementary SchoolPutnamAmy Barkleyasbarkley@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
George Washington Elementary SchoolPutnamSuzette Rosariosuzette.rosario@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Hurricane High SchoolPutnamSarah Barnessstandish@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Hurricane Town Elementary SchoolPutnamAmy Barkleyasbarkley@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Lakeside Elementary SchoolPutnamKelli Randan-Penningtonkrandan@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Mountain View Elementary SchoolPutnamKim Parsonskdparsons@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Poca Elementary SchoolPutnamMarlene Smithmarlene.smith@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Rock Branch Elementary SchoolPutnamRebecca Bennettrebecca.bennett@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
West Teays Elementary SchoolPutnamCarla Paynecrpayne@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Winfield Elementary SchoolPutnamVicki Dyevldye@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Taylor County Middle SchoolTaylorRenee Mahonrmahon@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Buffalo Middle SchoolWayneLauren Hensleylnshaw@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Hundred High SchoolWetzelBeverly VanScyocbvanscyo@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Magnolia High SchoolWetzelRobert Gomezrobert.gomez@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
New Martinsville Middle SchoolWetzelJeff Hiestandjhiestand@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Paden City Elementary SchoolWetzelDebbie Allendlallen@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Paden City High SchoolWetzelRobert Pricerobert.price@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Valley High SchoolWetzelJanet Moorejhmoore@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024
Wetzel County Technical Education CenterWetzelAmanda McPhersonamcphers@k12.wv.us1st Class, 2021 - 2024

NOTE: Applications for award renewal may be received up to seven months in advance for the continuation of a school’s status.